Skip to content

Polenta

May 31, 2011

Unfortunately, in two weeks Graham and I will have to begin our trek back to Indiana. I can hardly believe that we’re about to leave! A huge amount of my time over the last couple of weeks has been wrapped up in planning–let’s just say that our travel plans could lend themselves to a very fun summer, or to a complete logistical nightmare. So, let’s see:

1) Fly to Barcelona (where Graham will deliver a paper);
2) Fly to Savannah (for a wedding);
3) Drive to Southport, NC (for a family reunion);
4) Probably go to Charlotte, NC for about 5 days (hopefully a time when we can get some extra work in);
5) Drive to Durham, NC (for another wedding);
6) Someway, somehow get our car out of Arkansas and back to Indiana.

Did I mention I have a dissertation to write?

It doesn’t help things that I’m a cheapskate, who likes to use budget airlines when possible. So, of course I decided to take EasyJet from Paris to Barcelona, not remembering that they have especially stringent baggage size and weight restrictions. Not good when you have a year’s worth of luggage with you.

So, between figuring out where we’re going to stay and how we’re going to get from place to place, I haven’t been doing much cooking. However, a while back I had some fun with quick-cooking polenta–it’s great used in place of mashed potatoes,

and it’s also delicious fried.

When I had tried frying polenta in the past, it didn’t work out so well. In retrospect, I think that the combination of my crappy pans along with my constant fussing while cooking (nudge nudge nudge, shake shake shake, poke poke poke) was the culprit. You just need to make some regular polenta, and then let it cool into some kind of mold. Once it’s cold, you can flip it out of the mold, chop in into pieces, and then fry it in a little bit of hot oil in a good non-stick pan (or maybe in a well-seasoned skillet). When Graham was in Canada, I ate my fried polenta with balsamic-glazed chickpeas and broccoli.

And remember: don’t fuss with it! As it’s frying, leave it alone for a few minutes before flipping it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gwin Krouse permalink
    June 14, 2011 7:06 pm

    Thanks for the tip! I love polenta, but have never been too successful with making it. Perhaps I am too nudge nudge pokey. I’ll try your technique.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

