Skip to content

White Wine Pasta, and Potato Cakes

June 23, 2010

Now for a little back-logged home-cooking, as I try to prepare myself to do some more dissertation prep.

About a week ago I made this pasta dish, which was accidentally fantastic. I mean, I wasn’t entirely accidental, but it was thrown together fairly quickly, and turned out surprisingly well.

First, I cooked some whole wheat pasta. Then, I sauteed some broccoli in a large pan with a little oil until it was cooked but still a little crunchy. I then added the pasta, some chopped garlic, some white wine, lime juice, a bit more oil, and a little salt and pepper to the large pan, and let that cook until the liquid was gone. (You may want to slightly undercook the pasta at first, since it will continue to cook in the wine.)

While that was going, I made a little red pepper cashew sauce, which was simply cashew butter, salt, lime juice, water, and finely chopped red pepper. (I may have put a little garlic in it, too–I can’t remember at the moment.)

Once the pasta was done, I put it onto plates with a dollop of the cashew sauce, some chopped avocado, and some slices of fresh mint. The result was fantastic. With every bite, you would get something a little different–a little mint one time, some avocado the next, some tangy red pepper the next, and so on. I’ll definitely make this again, especially since each component is quite easy to prepare.

A few nights later, I made these little potato pancakes.

On the side, we had some roasted red cabbage with balsamic vinegar. And, just in case you thought I wasn’t obsessed with cashews, I made some basil cashew sauce to put on the cakes.

The cakes themselves were just three mashed potatoes, chopped red pepper, chopped fresh basil, chopped garlic, chopped onions, salt, pepper, and some nooch. I formed them into little patties and fried them in a little bit of olive oil. Graham and I loved these–while the cakes were savory, the cashew sauce and chopped red pepper added a little sweetness, and the fresh basil kept it from seeming too fried and starchy. I’m also pleased that I found a good way of preparing red cabbage–it seems to be everywhere, and I think I should learn to make it more often. (If anyone has red cabbage suggestions, do tell!) What’s more, these guys reminded me of the little potato pancakes my mom would make out of left-over mashed potatoes, so I had a little nostalgic trip at the same time.

Well, I’ve been listening to the Futureheads for a while, and am now feeling pumped up enough to get some writing done, provided that I can contain my dancing instincts. Off to write…


One Comment leave one →
  1. patricia leach permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:25 pm

    Wow!!! That pasta plate is a winner… beautiful food photography as well! Come cook for me!
    xoxoPAT

Leave a Reply

