Skip to content

Festive Red Cabbage Soup

July 6, 2010

I don’t know exactly what holiday this soup would be appropriate for, but I’m sure there must be one.

As I was trying to figure out how to use all of the red cabbage I had leftover from making the cabbage rounds, I decided to try making a blended red cabbage soup–and it worked!

I wasn’t sure whether the cabbage would really have the right sort of texture to be blended on its own, so I decided to include some potatoes in the base. To begin with, I chopped about 5 medium potatoes into cubes and boiled them in a generous amount of water. Once they were starting to get soft, I added some chopped red cabbage, so that the water just barely covered everything. I boiled the potatoes and cabbage a bit more, until the cabbage was getting soft. I then removed the pot from the burner and blended everything with my hand-blender, adding some lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, cashew butter, and salt and pepper. When I served it, I drizzled a little more cashew butter on top, and threw on a pile of chopped mint leaves.

Despite its color, this actually turned out to be a mild soup, like a tangy version of potato soup. The red cabbage adds some sweetness (and color!), and then the lemon juice and balsamic vinegar contribute a great deal of savory flavor.

We were able to eat this soup several times (since it ended up making about 6-8 large servings), and at one point we were able to find this fantastic pain complet as an accompaniment.

(You can credit Graham for the lovely garnish.)

As much as I love all of the bread at our nearby bakery, I often think that I don’t handle their fluffly white baguettes very well–after eating some, I notice a significant “crash” in energy later, which doesn’t bode well for the dissertation. In general, I’ve found that eating whole grains prevents these sorts of afternoon crashes, so from now on, I think I’ll stick with complet. This is just fine with me, since it’s the perfect soup-dipping bread!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    July 6, 2010 4:53 pm

    Okay, now the only thing holding me back from a perfect Pride meal is finding a dish to serve that is blue. 😛

    • July 7, 2010 12:48 pm

      Something with blue cornmeal?

    • Mary Bosch permalink
      July 7, 2010 10:10 pm

      I just read that if you cook red cabbage without vinegar or lemon, it will turn blue????????

  2. Mary Bosch permalink
    July 6, 2010 4:55 pm

    What holiday? Purple is the liturgical color for both Advent and Lent and, along with yellow, a secular color for Easter. You could be eating this a lot “in season.”

  3. November 25, 2013 9:25 pm

    What such a nice recipe!!! I was looking for something suitable for me and this recipe seems to be perfect, thanks!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

