Skip to content

“New Shoes”

July 16, 2010

Now, almost every time I think about shoes, I’m reminded of the emotional scars left from watching Twin Peaks (the Leo saga, in particular) during periods of procrastination last Winter.

I thought it wouldn’t be so bad to take a break from writing about food for a day, and instead write a little bit about vegan fashion–vegan shoes, in particular.

Surprisingly, cute vegan shoes are extremely easy to come by these days. (Vegan winter coats is an entirely different story, at least if you’re poor.) Since my beloved blue Simple slip-ons are on their way out, and since I didn’t have a particularly cool (as in breathable) pair of sneakers, I decided to get a pair of flats and a pair of summer walking shoes–both of which I was able to find at the Vegetarian Shoes website (a company based in the UK).

First, I got these unimaginably comfortable cork flats, with maroon detailing.

I think these are really cute and, like I said, they’re very comfortable–I could easily walk a few miles in them, because of the high-quality footbed. The cork is also extremely flexible, which makes for easy walking.

Then, for summer sneakers, I got these little Komodo shoes.

Lemon-colored tongue-less canvas sneakers with Balinese fabric for laces? Yes, please!

These are also really comfy, as well as cute and unusual.

So, I’m feeling good about the Vegetarian Shoes company–they seem to make very high quality shoes which, given their durability, are quite affordable. (Perhaps I shouldn’t comment on their durability for a couple of years–I’ll keep you updated. At least, I got a pair of Birkenstock-style sandals from them a while ago, and have since walked all across South Bend and Paris in them; they still look new.) I think I now won’t be needing new shoes for some time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. patricia leach permalink
    July 16, 2010 12:06 pm

    When I get new shoes, I want to sing about them so I can understand why you might like to write about your “finds”. Both pairs are cute… I especially like the flats… enjoy and happily wear them out walking all over the city of light.

  2. Caroline Brooks permalink
    July 16, 2010 2:17 pm

    As much as I love food, I enjoyed the momentary change of topic. And your new shoes are so cute! Love the unique style (and the cute laces) of the tongueless ones and the flats have ‘Amelia’ written all over them! 🙂 They look/sound expensive though…

    Funny that you should write about this today, as just yesterday evening I was pondering good walking shoes ’cause we’re COMING TO PARIS!! It’s official-yay! I’ll email you (same dates I mentioned). 🙂

    • July 18, 2010 8:52 am

      That’s wonderful! You’ll certainly need some walking shoes (although many women here seem content to walk around on the cobblestone sidewalks in their 4 inch stilettos, which frightens me).

  3. Mary Bosch permalink
    July 20, 2010 9:51 pm

    Very cute! And I noted that your floor and rug seem dust-less (OK so maybe it’s just that one area.)

    • July 22, 2010 8:35 am

      I’m glad it doesn’t look too dusty. Our ceiling seems to regularly slough off dust, and a lot of dust blows in from the street (since we have no screens)–but we try to stay on top of it.

  4. July 21, 2010 6:40 pm

    “…South Bend and Paris…” If I had a nickel for every time I’ve heard those two cities sharing company in the same breath…

    • July 22, 2010 8:34 am

      …you wouldn’t have many nickels. Unless you had another nickel source.

  5. Kiki permalink
    August 14, 2010 1:38 am

    They’re really cute!

Leave a Reply

