Skip to content

Lentilles Dom Perignon, White Wine Sauces, and Macaroons

July 20, 2010

So, I did end up making the “Lentilles Dom Perignon” which, along with some minty carrots, made for a simple but very tasty meal.

To make the lentils, I cooked a cup of green lentils until they were tender. I then sauteed a few chopped shallots in a little oil until they were soft, and sprinkled them with flour and stirred them around. Then, I added the lentils to the pan with the flour-coated shallots, and poured in about a cup of white wine (champagne is too expensive to be poured into lentils, if you ask me, and the bubbles disappear anyway) and about 1/2 a cup of vegetable stock. I boiled it until the liquid had reduced to just a few tablespoons, and then stirred in a few chopped cloves of garlic, a few tablespoons of tofu “creme,” and some fresh chopped parsley. 

The carrots I simply chopped up, cooked in a few tablespoons of water in a pan, and then (once the water had evaporated) browned in a tiny bit of oil with a tiny bit of sugar. Right at the end, I added some fresh chopped mint from our little window plant.

This was a very nice meal, which was also quick to make–I do think, however, that I should make extra carrots next time.

The day after we ate these lentils, we went to another IP project participant’s house for dinner, and so we brought food to share: some whole wheat pasta with zucchini and white wine sauce, along with some macaroons. Unfortunately, I didn’t really get pictures of any of this. However, I did get a picture of the macaroons pre-chocolate-coating.

These were light and crispy on the outside, and nice and moist on the inside–I think that Moskowitz’s recipe in Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar really is perfect.

I also got a shot of the meal that we made out of some of the leftovers from our dinner with the IP people. We had about enough pasta for two, and about enough white wine sauce to cover the pasta, and then just a few sad little pieces of zucchini. So, that afternoon, Graham made a little seitan to go alongside the pasta, which I then prepared with some herbs de provence.

This was great. The seitan Graham made was extremely flavorful, and so really didn’t need much done to it, and the wine sauce was just as good as the night before. The zucchini had to play more of a “garnishing” role, but was still very tasty. I’ve never cooked with wine this often before, but I think it’s my new favorite cooking ingredient–it just makes everything a little bit better.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline Brooks permalink
    July 20, 2010 5:47 pm

    We have also discovered that cooking with wine makes everything a little bit better (especially when you put it in the food – hahaha! sorry, I just couldn’t help myself). Seriously though, it does seem to give any dish an added dimension of flavor.

  2. Mary Bosch permalink
    July 20, 2010 9:46 pm

    Graham MADE seitan? I’m impressed!

    • July 22, 2010 8:25 am

      He sure did! We found a recipe that didn’t take up an unreasonable amount of time, and Graham was very excited to try it (I think all the kneading also helped him to get out some dissertation stress). It turned out quite well, although we have some ideas for tweaking it.

Leave a Reply

