Skip to content

Sunday Brunch at Voy Alimento

July 22, 2010

This past Sunday, Graham and I went back to Voy Alimento for their Sunday brunch. I love it there.

Endearing thing about Voy Alimento #1: The delicious food–see below.

Endearing thing about Voy Alimento #2: The extremely friendly workers. I think that our waitress picked up on the fact that we weren’t so great at speaking French, and so she tried speaking French in a way that we were likely to understand (very slowly, with very careful enunciation)–and we actually did understand her! This made us feel good about ourselves.

Endearing thing about Voy Alimento #3: The music. It’s pleasant and eclectic, and doesn’t hit you upside the head.

Endearing thing about Voy Alimento #4: The very cute space.

The space is very casual, but very comfortable. They only have about four tables, and then the rest of the space (to your right, in the pictures) is dedicated to little bins where they keep imported South American foods. In the pictures above you should notice a) the little kitchen behind the counter where they prepare all the food, b) all the cute jars above the counter, c) the lights, and d) the air plants hanging from the ceiling.

This time, Graham and I each got the plat de jour.

This included gingery green lentils with cilantro and basil; a fresh vegetable salad; quinoa with vegetables, spirulina and dried fruit; and their classic blini, covered with a tahini sauce and colorful sprouts. I also got some Xocolatl, which I can’t get enough of.

And for dessert, we split this tiny little mousse cup.

The bottom layer was crushed cocoa nibs with agave nectar and spices, and the top was (I think) some of the stuff from the bottom layer mixed with lemon juice and rice milk. I think. Anyway, it was completely delicious.

Voy Alimento is definitely a health food restaurant, but I think they make some of the most flavorful, exciting “health food” I’ve ever had. I’d eat it even if it were bad for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. patricia leach permalink
    July 22, 2010 10:31 am

    No downside to health food. I wish I were there sharing meals with you. Reading your blog reminds me of how little nutritious food I actually eat!

  2. Kiki permalink
    August 14, 2010 1:49 am

    What is Xocolatl? I assume it is that red drink? You might have posted it somewhere else and maybe I will discover what it is in the next (or previous) posts, since I am now finally catching up on your blog and adventures. I’ve never heard of it, but it (and the food) looks great!

Trackbacks

  1. Xocolatl: My New Favorite Tea… Which I Can’t Pronounce « Végétalien à Paris

Leave a Reply

