Skip to content

Franco-Italian Seitan

July 23, 2010
tags:

Since Graham made quite a bit of seitan on Saturday, we still had a fair amount leftover on Monday. So, I made some Franco-Italian seitan for dinner–seitan cutlets cooked in a provencal marinara sauce.

It was perfect with a little shredded herb Vegusto on top, along with a pinch of fresh basil. On the side, we had some white beans in an olive and garlic puree (although I use the word “puree” very loosely–it was only about as “pureed” as it was going to get in a mortar), and some very simple sauteed zucchini. This was a fantastic meal, in part because it provided us with some great leftovers.

The next day, I picked up some spinach and some pears, and whipped up a vinaigrette made with balsamic vinegar, melted coconut oil, lemon juice, and a little salt. I served the vinaigrette on the spinach with the chopped pears and (predictably) a little Vegusto. We then had the leftover bits of seitan and beans on the side.

This is really a great salad (especially since I love pears so much), and I think I’ll be making this much more often now that the weather is heating up again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    July 24, 2010 6:35 pm

    You know the Veganomicon recipe for poached pears? I’ve been wanting to make that cold/raw. I’m thinking I’d brew some iced tea or sun tea for the pears to marinade in overnight, mix some cacao and sweetener with some of the tea for a nice chocola-tea sauce and pour it over the pears. Maybe a little cashew creme just for fun, too. Or mint sprigs. Or both!

    But it’s chilly here right now. Jacket weather. And pears aren’t in season. So I’m waiting…

    Oh, I wondered: Did you try Daiya before you left? I’m wondering how it compares to Vegusto.

    • July 24, 2010 6:44 pm

      Mmm… that sounds wonderful. I love pears, and I love pears in sauce. I haven’t tried the Veganomicon recipe yet–but your version really sounds fantastic.

      I *have* tried Daiya! That’s the other vegan cheese that I think is quite good. But (at least what I’ve had) is good in the kind of way that makes it good for, like, piling on pizzas. What I’ve really missed, though, are the stronger cheeses (Bleu, Gouda, Swiss), and Vegusto is great for replacing those sorts of things. Daiya also isn’t available anywhere in Indiana (as far as I know), so I’ve only had some on a few occasions.

      There’s also (I just discovered) *melty* Vegusto. I’m thinking I might try it, and see how it compares to Daiya.

      Graham, by the way, LOVES Daiya.

Leave a Reply

