Skip to content

Mini Vegan Reuben Sandwiches

August 11, 2010

As I mentioned a couple of posts ago, I’m missing Midwestern food–diner food in particular, apparently. So, since we had some sauerkraut, and since Graham wanted to make more seitan, I decided to attempt my first Reuben.


Since the loaves of bread we get here are usually quite small, I decided to do “mini Reubens”–cute, eh? We also ate some leftover quinoa and “creamed” spinach. (Apparently some people don’t like creamed spinach, but I love it. To make it vegan, you can just sautee some onions in garlic in some sort of oil, and once those are brown, sprinkle them with flour and mix them around to make a roux. You can then add some watery chopped spinach, a little unsweetened non-dairy milk, more water if necessary, and some salt, pepper, and nutmeg.)

The first thing you need to make a reuben is a seitan recipe that makes “shavable” seitan. We used this one:

http://vegandad.blogspot.com/2008/06/veggie-lunch-meat.html

It turned out really well, although I wonder about subbing some cooked beets for some of the beans, so that it would turn out more pink. Hmmm.

So, Graham made a “loaf” of seitan, and I got a fantastic (small) loaf of caraway-cumin bread from one of the bakeries on the Rue de Rosier. We then sliced the bread, and layered on shaved off pieces of seitan, herb Vegusto, and sauerkraut. Once they were precariously stacked, we grilled each of these little sandwiches so that they were brown on both sides. We ate them with some “home-made” Thousand Island dressing: egg-free mayo, a tiny bit of water, ketchup, and chopped pickles.


These turned out really well. Like I said, I might like to look into changing the color of the seitan, but the sandwiches really tasted fantastic. Graham even said that, were it not for the fact that they were “mini” sandwiches made out of non-rye bread, he would have thought he was eating at the Chicago Diner. Now that’s a compliment.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. cinnazimtanie permalink
    August 11, 2010 5:50 pm

    *wants*

  2. Mary Bosch permalink
    August 11, 2010 11:01 pm

    I sure miss you both. It’s good to see even a picture of Graham’s hand!

  3. cinnazimtanie permalink
    August 12, 2010 5:32 am

    btw, I’ve tried beets in seitan when I was making “philly rolls” and wanted seitan that looked like salmon. It didn’t go pink.

    • August 12, 2010 8:13 am

      What *did* it go? I was hoping it might turn out kind of rosy. Any suggestions?

      • cinnazimtanie permalink
        August 18, 2010 5:43 am

        It just didn’t really change the color. I wonder if frying it in beet juice would? or purple cabbage? or… Erin says red pepper or a little blueberry juice, which looks red at that dilution. And it won’t taste berry-ish at that amount.

        I really haven’t returned to trying to dye seitan, so I just don’t know.

  4. Kiki permalink
    August 14, 2010 2:02 am

    We miss you and G!

    • August 15, 2010 2:07 pm

      Aw, we sure miss you both. You have to let me know when you plan on being in Amsterdam!

Leave a Reply

