Skip to content

Vegan Sunday Crepes: Spinach and Mushrooms

August 15, 2010

Today’s crepes were inspired by my mom. She told me that the first crepes she ever ate were filled with creamed spinach–as you know, I love creamed spinach, so I also loved the idea of filling crepes with it.

It’s been raining here for days now, with just a few breaks in between downpours. Worse yet, it looks like it might continue like this until late in the week. These crepes, however, were a good pick-me-up–they were flavorful, warm, and generally comforting, which is what I look for during weather like this. 

First, I made up the crepe batter, which is Moskowitz’s in Vegan Brunch with just a few adjustments. (I increase the flour-to-liquid ratio just a *little* bit, and add some nooch and vanilla.)

While that was setting, I made the creamed spinach. Unfortunately, I didn’t actually have anything very creamy, but I made do. I sauteed a few cloves of garlic in a little oil with some dried basil, and once it became quite fragrant I sprinkled it with flour to make a roux. I then added some watery, thawed chopped spinach, and mixed it into the roux, along with some extra water (for consistency), fresh nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Once that was finished, I cooked some leftover mushrooms in a little oil and salt until they were starting to get brown, and then added some herbs de provence.

After Graham fried up the crepes, we filled up each one with spinach, mushrooms, and some melty Vegusto (which I plan to discuss in an upcoming post on pizza–you’ll have to be patient).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kiki permalink
    August 15, 2010 9:27 pm

    These look so good… I need more crepes in my life!

    • August 16, 2010 3:15 pm

      I wish for you that your life be full of crepes, that your crepes be full of goodies, and that “full of” be transitive.

      Do you think you can get a crepe pan in South Bend?

  2. Caroline Brooks permalink
    August 16, 2010 3:32 pm

    Mmmm, you’re making me want some creamed chopped spinach, which I also love but we never make since a certain somebody doesn’t care for it! Keep on cookin’ – I never cease to be amazed by your endless creativity!

    • August 17, 2010 8:18 am

      Aw, thanks!

      It’s interesting how something as harmless as creamed spinach can be so polarizing!

  3. Mary Bosch permalink
    August 16, 2010 7:01 pm

    The spinach crepes I used to get in NYC were at least 14 inches in diameter. The creamed spinach was plopped in the middle and the four sides were folded in to form a square. Yours are much prettier! And your creamed spinach much healthier!

    • August 17, 2010 8:20 am

      Thanks! I think they’re pretty healthy.

      Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll be making 14-inch crepes any time soon! But I do see a lot of street vendors making them on these giant metal dome-shaped pans.

Leave a Reply

