Skip to content

Vegan Pizza

August 17, 2010


Confession: when we lived in South Bend, Graham and I made pizza pretty often, and would perform the following little anxiety-soothing ritual:

1) Buy Leinenkugel beer. (Why? Well, because it’s delicious and cheap.)

2) Make pizza. (I would usually make the crust, while G would make the tomato sauce and chop up the toppings.)

3) Don pajamas–because otherwise we might feel too classy.

4) Put on a Saw movie, or some similar movie that’s horrible enough to be cathartic.

5) Drink and nom on pizza while learning that we should really be grateful for our lives–otherwise Saw might come and find a horrifying way of making us grateful. 

Now, I don’t exactly endorse this little ritual–but sometimes you really need to find a way of relaxing and taking your mind off of things, and this is what we came up with. I didn’t say we were therapists.

Now that we’re in Paris, we’re really much less stressed out. It’s summer, we’re in Paris, and we’re steadily working on our dissertations which, while a little stressful, is very different from, say, prepping for a qualifying oral examination. So, when we made pizza this time around, it was more like a normal meal. Turns out, eating pizza is nice even when you’re feeling good.

First off, I found this really good pizza crust recipe:

http://recipes.robbiehaf.com/T/272.htm

It’s really easy, and the tiny bit of kneading it requires is actually pretty fun. It reminds me of kindergarten. It’s also surprisingly quick. I wouldn’t say that it produced a “thin crust” pizza–it was more like a very good traditional crust. But that may have been because we don’t have any pans that are big enough (or an oven big enough, for that matter) to allow us to roll it out extremely thin.

Once I’d made the dough, we topped it with some tomato sauce, red peppers, mushrooms, and melty Vegusto.

Yep, Vegusto makes melty mozzarella. I was pretty curious about it, since at this point Daiya has really blown (some) people away by its ability to imitate cow-derived mozzarella. As it turns out, the melty Vegusto is pretty different from Daiya; texturally, it’s more like an extremely soft cheese, although it’s still grate-able. So, perhaps with respect to texture, Daiya wins. However, the Vegusto is a little stronger than Daiya and, I think, just tastes better. And, at any rate, even if the melty Vegusto is too soft to imitate mozzarella, I’ve never been a fan of the super-rubbery cheese that Daiya aims to imitate. 

So, the pizza turned out spectacularly. The crust wasn’t too cripsy, but it also wasn’t too soft; the cheese was delicious; and the red pepper and mushrooms, combined with some fresh basil after it came out of the oven, were perfect.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. patricia leach permalink
    August 17, 2010 11:45 am

    That pizza looks fantastic!

  2. Caroline Brooks permalink
    August 17, 2010 2:36 pm

    It’s beautiful (and you’re so funny :-))!

  3. Gwin Krouse permalink
    August 18, 2010 3:05 pm

    Ya know, if this philosophy stuff doesn’t work out, you should open a restaurant or a photography business–you obviously excel at both! I’m so impressed with your cooking abilities–everything looks so beautiful, and you do it with such ease and panache. I’m very envious of your talents (especially since I’m only skilled at turning on the microwave). Love the blog.

    • Mary Bosch permalink
      August 18, 2010 9:28 pm

      Gwin, I wanted you to know that a few months ago, I was trying to open some pictures that Amelia emailed to me. I was having a hard time doing so; it seemed like I had to fill our facebook information in order to see them. You can probably guess what happened– I joined facebook but have absolutely no idea how to use it. One of these days, I’ll get a young person in the church to teach me, and then we’ll be facebook friends.

      • Gwin Krouse permalink
        August 19, 2010 2:26 pm

        Mary, my sister got me hooked on Facebook. It’s easy, once you start using it (even I, a techno neanderthal, can do it). Sign on and in the right columns you’ll see “friend requests.” Click on “confirm” and there you have it! Then you can go to town looking up all your old friends. I’ve reconnected with high school, college, law school, work pals–it’s great.
        It’s also how I keep track of Graham/Amelia’s and Olivia’s exploits!

  4. Mary Bosch permalink
    August 18, 2010 9:25 pm

    I wonder if Vegusto is more like fresh mozzarella…

Trackbacks

  1. Mexican Pizza « Végétalien à Paris

Leave a Reply

