Skip to content

Vegan in Cologne, Part 2: Signor Verde

September 2, 2010

In this post, I continue to reminisce about delicious food eaten in Cologne last week.

A restaurant in Cologne that I think deserves a post all to itself is Signor Verde, a vegan coffee shop and cafe near the Mauritiuskirche metro stop. Sadly, we were only able to go here once, since they are only open Wednesday-Saturday, and the combination of my workshop and our train schedules prevented us from going here again. But that one meal was delightful.

The restaurant is a corner cafe,

which serves the kind of food you would expect to be served at a lunch-oriented coffee-shop. However, I thought that the food we had was of particularly high quality and was also quite inventive. I had a tasty toasted sandwich, which was filled with vegetables and seitan and then served with a creamy tomato spread,

while Graham had some fried spring rolls and a salad.

But these weren’t just any spring rolls–they were especially delicious because (I believe) they had tiny bits of banana in them!

We also got some tea and hot chocolate, each of which came with an adorable little crescent biscuit.

Finally, for dessert, I got a chocolate-banana-peanut-butter cupcake, and Graham got some apple cake.

We were also given extra whipped cream, since we had “had to wait too long for dessert.” I can’t imagine that we had waited for more than five minutes, but I won’t say no to extra whipped cream!

Our desserts were absolutely fantastic. My cupcake was cute and super chocolate-y, which is how I like my cupcakes, and Graham’s apple cake was simply delicious–it was perfectly moist, filled with apples, and was awesome with some of that whipped cream.

We also had a lovely time talking with the owner, who told us a bit about himself and the city–he’s doing excellent work, and I sincerely wish him luck in trying to shut down the city’s McDonalds to replace them with more compassionate, tastier food. If you’re ever in Cologne, I would highly recommend paying this place a visit!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. patricia leach permalink
    September 2, 2010 11:16 am

    Wow, thanks to your excellent photography, that apple cake looked scrumptious…The plate it was served on added to the charm…

  2. Kiki permalink
    September 4, 2010 2:33 pm

    It sounds like you had a great time in Koln. Fun you can do some traveling while you’re there! Seeing all this nice food makes me hungry, once again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

