Skip to content

An Easy Tofu Casserole

September 9, 2010

I’ve made this twice now, and both times it’s worked out wonderfully–it’s a casserole, of sorts, with a base of wild rice and a top layer made of blended tofu, raw onions, raw garlic, and spices.The first time I made it, I was inspired by 1) my mom (who had recently made something similar) and 2) my desire to clean out my refrigerator. I didn’t dress it up very much, but it was very tasty nonetheless.

Here’s the basic idea behind making it (I won’t call it a recipe):

1. You cook 1 or 1 1/2 cups of rice (I used wild rice) and thaw some chopped spinach.

2. While the rice is cooking, you blend 1 package of firm tofu along with

-a small, chopped onion,

-a few cloves of garlic,

-some nutritional yeast,

-some tahini,

-some miso, and

-a little tamari.

You may want more or less of the non-tofu ingredients, depending on how big your package of tofu is. You may also want to add some water, depending on the water content of your tofu. The resultant mixture should have the viscosity of non-gelatinous pudding. Taste it to make sure you like the proportions of ingredients you’ve used, and add salt/tamari if necessary. When you’re done blending, I’m sure you could also mix in some herbs, or chopped vegetables.

3. Grease a small pan–I used a round pan with about a 12 inch diameter.

4. Once the rice is cooked, pat it down evenly onto the greased pan.

5. Take your spinach, and spread it evenly over the rice.

6. Take your blended tofu mixture, and spread it evenly on top of the spinach.

7. Sprinkle some bread crumbs on top.

8. Put the pan, uncovered, into a 180 degree celcius-heated oven for about 30 minutes. When it’s done, the sides should look a little dark, and should be pulling away from the edge of the pan.

The second time I made this, I made it without the spinach (I forgot it) and served it with some fresh green beans and mushrooms on top, which made it look lovely and colorful, and also added some nice textures and flavors.

Both versions were great, but I think it’s better with the spinach than without.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline Brooks permalink
    September 9, 2010 3:50 pm

    Impressive how beautiful and gourmet that last photo with the green beans and mushrooms looks!

  2. Mary Bosch permalink
    September 9, 2010 8:01 pm

    These are both great improvements over my version!

Leave a Reply

