Skip to content

Vegan French Pastry Experiment #4: Chocolate Strawberry Petits Fours with Chocolate Ganache

September 14, 2010

This may be my last post for a while. On Wednesday, G and I head to Barcelona for a conference, and then a week later to Berlin for another conference. In the midst of all that traveling, I can’t guarantee I’ll have blogging opportunities. But I’ll be back eventually.

This past weekend I decided to try making a different sort of petit four–the more paradigmatic sort, as opposed to the kind we happen to commonly see in the windows of our patisseries. Paradigmatic petits fours are essentially tiny layer cakes that are usually either covered with fondant or some kind of ganache; since I’ve never made fondant and felt intimidated by the thought of it, I opted for ganache, which was fairly simple although less forgiving.

For the cake, I opted to use the Moosewood chocolate cake recipe (although I mixed it in a bowl, and then poured it into a parchment paper-lined pan). After it came out of the oven, I let it cool and then cut it into little squares.

For the filling, I mixed together some vegetable-based margarine, powdered sugar, salt, vanilla, and blended fresh strawberries. Then I sliced each little square lengthwise, and spread the strawberry filling in between the two layers.

This was when they started to get messy.

I made a pretty standard (although vegan) ganache using about 200 grams of dark chocolate, about 1/4 C coconut oil, about 1/2 C soy milk, and a little agave nectar. You can usually tell whether the proportions in a ganache are correct–if you have too much soy milk, the ganache will be too runny, and if you have too much chocolate (or oil, I think), it won’t be perfectly smooth.

I then spooned the ganache onto each petit four in the way that this person suggested.

While those were sitting in the refrigerator, I made funny little things out of colored marzipan for decorations. 

The result was not the prettiest set of petits fours I’ve ever seen, but they were still pretty cute. (And if you look closely at the petits fours pictured in the previous link, you can see that they’re not perfect either–I suspect that most people will end up with imperfect petits fours if they go the ganache, as opposed to the fondant, route.)

Although imperfect, they were delicious.

A picture like this one required a lot of self-control.

Well, it’s difficult to say when my next post might be–perhaps in a week, perhaps in two. But I look forward to sharing news of vegan treats from Barcelona and Berlin!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline Brooks permalink
    September 14, 2010 3:13 pm

    They are adorable – the little marzipan decorations – ohhh!

    • September 14, 2010 3:43 pm

      Making the little marzipan decorations was definitely the best part of the whole process. I felt like I was back in Waldorf school, molding beeswax.

  2. Scott Brooks permalink
    September 14, 2010 4:37 pm

    As soon as I saw the first photo (beautiful, by the way), I scrolled right to the bottom to look for Caroline’s comment that I knew would be there. Clicking the links to your posts always makes me hungry.

  3. Gwin Krouse permalink
    September 21, 2010 2:54 pm

    I am always amazed and totally impressed when I read your blog! You are very, very talented.
    And you make me very, very hungry. Send some of those little cakes!

Leave a Reply

