Skip to content

Vegan in Barcelona: Part I

October 4, 2010

We’re back!

It’s certainly been a while, and in the last two weeks–in both Barcelona and Berlin–I’ve accumulated more blogging material than I know what to do with. But I’ll just have to forge ahead.

First of all, Barcelona is *amazing.* I had so much fun wandering in the old part of the city, sneaking around the Gothic Quarter, and visiting all of the “Gaudi” sites (which really are gaudy, but in a whimsical way).

And we ate some fantastic stuff. Just look at the picture above–can you imagine how wide my eyes got when I first caught sight of this? That picture was taken at La Boqueria Mercat, the giant market off of Las Ramblas. So, apparently, Barcelonians don’t really “do” breakfast, which can be hard on those of us who are accustomed to getting up more than five hours before lunchtime. For that reason, the giant market was very important to me and Graham during our stay, since it was one of the few places open in the mornings where you could get proper breakfast food. The market was (obviously) filled with fruits and vegetables, along with lots of fresh juices.

This was the stand from which G and I got some blackberry coconut juice, which I’m pretty sure is the best juice ever.

And if you go to the Boqueria market, you can get lovely mixed fruit bowls for just two euros a piece. Now, I get picky about fruit–there are just so many ways that fruit can be not-good (not ripe, too ripe, rotten, bugs, bruises, seeds, etc.). But these fruit bowls totally lived up to my unreasonable fruit standards.

In a fruit bowl, you get lots of watermelon, cantaloupe, strawberries, kiwi, orange slices, half a fig, and a mystery fruit (one I can’t identify). The mystery fruit is white, with lots of little black seeds, and with a fuschia “trim.” Whoever can identify it gets… to feel special.

“But Amelia,” you might ask, “where did you get your booze?” Well let me tell you. In the Gothic Quarter, not too far from Las Ramblas, there’s a vegan bar called Cat Bar.

There, you can get lots of beer, Sangria, and English-style bar food.

See? There’s G, cheekily drinking my sangria. 

And there’s our tasty English bar-food! (I passed on the chips and beans… this time.)

I’m starting to realize that, for some reason, if I sit in a vegan bar for long enough, the wait-staff will begin to spontaneously bring me treats. I don’t know how I came to be so fortunate to have this property of treat-magnetism, but I’m grateful for it. This time, I got brownie-bites!

These, along with the Sangria, made me very happy.

There was another place we went to on a couple of occasions for lunch called Juicy Jones. Juicy Jones, predictably, is a juice bar, that also serves lots of food (all of which is vegan). Now, admittedly, Juicy Jones is decorated like a bad dream, but I think their food was quite good, especially the plato del dias.

This was a potato cake, tomato-seitan goulash, and baby spinach with olive tapenade, all drizzled with a mild basil cream.

G also got a really good ginger-soba salad:

And, of course, they have great smoothies. I had a chocolate-banana-coconut smoothie which was just as intense as it sounds. So, if you’re in Barcelona, I recommend donning your color-reduction goggles, and heading into Juicy Jones for lunch.

Well, I’m going to save a few more meals for Vegan in Barcelona: Part II. It only gets better, I promise you. In the meantime, here are some tourist-y pictures of me and G being tourists!

Here we are in front of the East side of the Gaudi Cathedral. My response: “It looks like… a sandcastle!” (And what’s that guy doing behind us? I feel like he should be in a really dramatic R&B music video, in the rain.)

Graham, taking in the strangeness of Parc Guell.

We climbed to the top of the park!

We had a great view of the city.

I had G take a picture of me on this street I liked, which had lots of little lights strung up over it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline Brooks permalink
    October 4, 2010 4:24 pm

    Wonderful post! That mystery fruit looks familiar to me but I can’t quite place it (but don’t worry, I feel special anyway – haha). I like that Barcelona seems to bring out your cute, wacky side – glad you had such a good time, it is a fun city! 😉

  2. Gwin Krouse permalink
    October 4, 2010 9:03 pm

    Now that you are a member of the Krouse family, I’m sure you will find that treat-magnetism is genetic. It’s hard to keep us away from one another. I can find a brownie anywhere.
    Great photos–that cathedral is just unbelievably beautiful.

  3. February 8, 2014 5:54 pm

    That pink fruit is Dragon Fruit or Pitaya. I’ve never eaten it but it looks pretty & strange!

Leave a Reply

