Skip to content

More Praise for Moskowitz: Berry Muffins and Perfect Pancakes

October 22, 2010

I think that my favorite cookbook, at the moment, is Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. I’ve made many different recipes from it, and each one has turned out spectacularly. When we were still in Indiana, G and I threw a brunch party, for which I made a couple of broccoli quiches, some sausages, and some crabcakes, all of which came from, you guessed it, Vegan Brunch. Probably one of the most valuable things I learned from it is that, when making a brunch without eggs, you should really, really invest in some black salt (which is actually pink). We managed to find some at a nearby Indian market, where I believe it was labeled in French (sal noir). The neat thing about black salt is that it has a sulfurous taste and scent (yum, right?), which instantly makes things taste like eggs. Unfortunately, I haven’t begun to familiarize myself with the Indian markets near Gare du Nord, and so have not yet located any black salt, which means I have to stick to the sweeter side of the Vegan Brunch cookbook.

We’ve now made a few batches of the Berry Muffins, which is a fantastic recipe. They turn out even when I make them with my deplorably unevenly heated toaster over, which always makes a few look a little lop-sided. They’re not health food, but they’re filling and delicious, and make for great desserts!

I made the muffins above using a cup of fresh, chopped strawberries. Baking them made our apartment smell fantastic.

I’ve definitely mentioned the Vegan Brunch pancake recipe before, but I just can’t get over how simple and fool-proof it is. It makes me feel silly for having made so many gummy pancakes in the past. The last time we had pancakes, Graham was frying them up, and then set this plate in front of me:

He said, “This pancake is a tribute to my love for you… and to Africa.” So sweet. Although I now have to try Stephanie’s pancake recipe (since I have it on good authority that it’s awesome), I do love Moskowitz’s, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a super simple pancake recipe. It’s just amazing to me that they turn out without binders.

The next thing I would like to do is use Moskowitz’s quiche recipe (after locating some black salt) to make mini-quiches in our creme brulee bowls. I think it could be very cute, potentially.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. patricia leach permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:27 pm

    Adorable and yummy….

  2. Caroline Brooks permalink
    October 22, 2010 10:43 pm

    Beautiful pictures, as always. The heart-shaped-Africa-pancake, was too funny! I look forward to being invited to brunch at your house one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

