Skip to content

Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup

November 3, 2010

There’s no Campbell’s in this household–we’re rocking the tomato soup coconut-style. Oh yeah.

So, true story: when I first met Graham, an overworked vegan graduate student living in Indiana, he would, with some regularity, whip up some Campbell’s tomato soup in which to dip toasted peanut butter sandwiches. Actually, that sounds pretty good, but I bet it wasn’t nearly as tasty as a Vegusto grilled cheese sandwich dipped in home-made tomato soup with a coconut kick!

I can’t really provide a cheese recipe–I used the European Vegusto brand (the melty mozzarella variety), which is awesome. So, sorry about that. But I can tell you how to make the tomato soup.

This is, of course, coconut-y, so don’t try it if you hate coconut.

Now that all of the coconut-haters are gone, let’s look at how to do this (what follows will make two moderately-sized bowls of soup).

Ridiculously Easy Tomato Coconut Soup

Ingredients:

2 C water
1 vegetable bouillon cube*
4 Tbsp tomato paste
1/2 C coconut milk
2 tsp corn starch

Method:

1. Boil the water in a medium pot.
2. Turn down the temperature, and drop in the bouillon cube, and then whisk in the tomato paste and coconut milk.
3. Once the cube, paste, and milk are fully incorporated, take a couple tablespoons of the soup out of the pot and put them in a small bowl. Whisk the cornstarch into the small amount of soup, and then whisk the small amount of soup back into the pot.
4. Cook the soup for a couple more minutes, so that it has some time to thicken.
5. Serve with some dippin’ sandwiches!

*If your bouillon isn’t very herb-y, I would recommend dropping in some herbs as well (some oregano would be great). Also, the bouillon I used was fairly mild. To avoid making an excessively salty soup, you might want to start with half a cube, and add the rest at the end if it’s necessary.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:24 pm

    ooooh! love the idea of this soup! Maybe I’ll make an onion-herb broth…

    So here’s a question: Erin won’t eat smooth soups, only chunky. Given those parameters, would you add tomato chunks and coconut shavings? Or are there other vegetables you think would go well?

    • Stephanie permalink
      November 3, 2010 6:53 pm

      From the other room, hours later, I hear “NO COCONUT SHAVINGS.”

      Okay then.

      • November 4, 2010 9:12 am

        What about some corn, or green beans? Those sound pretty good to me….

      • Stephanie permalink
        November 5, 2010 7:23 pm

        Okay, for lunch I made tomato soup and cheese toast inspired by your recipe. But I didn’t have it in front of me, so I just did what I thought I should do with the veggies we had on hand and it ended up not being the same at all — but very, very good! The combination of tomato and coconut was great! And Erin bought me some daiya for my birthday, so we were totally set.

        I sautéed some yellow onion and garlic in coconut oil, added some black salt, oregano, and cumin and then diced carrots and radishes. Some cayenne and sage would have been nice, but didn’t happen. Next time I think I’d also like cauliflower and crimini mushrooms, but this is what I had on hand. Once the veggies were tender I added it to the pot of broth which was 1 can of coconut milk & 1 little can of tomato paste with a cup of water, whisked together. Finally I added a whole bunch of ripped up spinach, put the lid on and let it simmer. Because Erin had 10 minutes before she had to leave for work I didn’t have time to make grilled cheese (and frying up food like that makes me uneasy anyway). I ended up throwing some daiya shreds on the bread and toasted it in the toaster oven.

        It was definitely a hit, especially for a quick lunch.

  2. November 3, 2010 8:10 pm

    The soup sounds so cozy. I like that it’s so simple…just tomato paste and coconut milk, basically. Vachement chouette! Do they still say that in France?

  3. November 3, 2010 8:52 pm

    I think I’m going to have to try this toasted peanut butter sandwich dipped in tomato soup idea…

Leave a Reply

