Skip to content

Xocolatl: My New Favorite Tea… Which I Can’t Pronounce

November 4, 2010

I believe that I’ve mentioned Xocolatl before in my posts about Voy Alimento, and wrote about how much I loved it. Well, my love for Xocolatl has now reached a whole new level: I’m making the sweet-smelling chocolate tea for myself, at home.

For the record (let me know if I’m wrong), I think Xocolatl is pronounced so-co-laht, not sock-o-lat-el, which is what I repeatedly called it.

Fortunately for me, Voy Alimento has made my Xocolatl-making extremely easy, by selling little Xocolatl-making kits in their boutique. So, one Sunday, we headed to Voy Alimento for a beautiful brunch,

and picked up one of their Xocolatl kits.

The kit contains all of the ingredients you need for Xocolatl, other than the sweetener.

What gives Xocolatl its distinctive, chocolate-y flavor are little cocoa nibs. But then all of the other spices (including some cinnamon and peppers) turn it into something much, much better than mere chocolate tea.

To make it, I filled up one of our water jugs with water (so that I would have that much Xocolatl, in the end), poured that water into a pot, threw in a few tablespoons of the spice blend, and let it simmer for about 25 minutes, until it took on a rich caramel color. I then added some agave nectar. Xocolatl is good either hot or cold, but I think I slightly prefer it cold—for some reason, it tastes even more flavorful when chilled. So I poured it back into my water jug, and stuck it in the fridge for a while. The result: a wonderful-smelling apartment and a refrigerator full of my favorite tea.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline Brooks permalink
    November 4, 2010 3:35 pm

    I believe the final ‘L’ would be pronounced if it is indeed Mexican/Aztec as it appears to be in word spelling and content. The French would, of course, swallow the final L. Never had it, but it sounds yummy!

    • November 5, 2010 8:06 am

      Hmm, so what to do? Pronounce it like the Aztecs, or like the French? I might do it the French way for now, to avoid being corrected every time!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    November 4, 2010 4:41 pm

    One of our single origin coffees at work is the Xeucalvitz. We were trained to say something between “shu – cal- vitz” and “chu-cal-vitz.” No idea on the L.

    Wish we could serve the Xocolatl, it sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

