Skip to content

Chocolate Basil Mousse

November 5, 2010

I made these little mousse cups when I had some tofu and basil that I really needed to use up. They’re made of soft tofu, melted dark chocolate, agave nectar, a pinch of salt, and fresh basil, all blended together. And yes, basil does go with chocolate.

I whipped these up pretty fast, so I don’t have a real recipe for you. But if you’re interested in something like this, you could 1) buy Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, 2) look at the mousse recipe in the back, which—although I don’t have it in front of me–I’m sure was the subconscious inspiration for this, and 3) before letting it chill, blend in some fresh basil, tasting as you go.

I garnished these with some more chopped basil, and pear slices that also needed to be eaten.

The basil was not overwhelming, and I think that anyone who enjoys combinations like chocolate-lavender and chocolate-rosemary should enjoy this combination as well. I’ve always loved the mousse recipe in VCTOTW (it’s great for times when you need a quick dessert to feed a lot of people–just whip up a batch, get some fruit, and make mousse parfaits!), and the fact that this subconscious basil-rendition of that recipe turned out so well illustrates what a wonderful, versatile recipe it is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

