Skip to content

Pumpkin-Pecan Pancakes with Apples and Cashew Cream

November 8, 2010

For our Halloween brunch, we made pumpkin-pecan pancakes, and topped them with cooked apples and a sweet cashew puree. I love Sundays.

For the pancakes, I used the pumpkin pancakes recipe in Vegan Brunch, and threw in a handful of chopped pecans. I thought that the pancakes turned out great–they’re a little softer than the “Perfect Pancakes” from the same book, but not excessively so.

For the apple bits, I chopped up an apple, put the chunks into a small sauce pan, and then added a few tablespoons of water, about a tablespoon of sugar, some cinnamon, and a pinch of salt. You can let all of that simmer until the apples become soft and the liquid thickens. (If you want an even thicker “apple syrup,” you could always add corn starch.)

For the cashew cream, I combined some soaked and mushed cashews with a little salt, lemon juice, and agave nectar. If you’re a fan of cream-cheesy things on your sweet breakfast foods, then you may want to try topping your pancakes/crepes/waffles/french toast with a similar sweet lemon cashew puree.

I thought that the pecans in the pancakes were fantastic, and I loved how the tart cashew cream went with the super-sweet apples (which is why you should only add a moderate amount of sugar when making the apples–cooking them really sweetens them up!). Usually G and I are too busy to make these sorts of breakfasts (we typically eat lots of oats and raw flax seeds in the morning), but it’s really wonderful to be able to take one morning off every week to fix up a brunch this nice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 2:33 pm

    This looks great. I wish I had time to make it.

  2. November 8, 2010 4:35 pm

    These look so yummy! Great combination.

  3. November 8, 2010 4:42 pm

    Those look so good, if I didn’t have a crazy MoFo plan for all my meals this week all ready I’d definitely be trying these!

Leave a Reply

