Skip to content

Bob’s Kitchen

November 10, 2010

Bob’s Kitchen is a wonderful vegetarian lunch-spot in the Marais. If you’re in the neighborhood, and are looking for a relatively inexpensive bite to eat minus the falafel grease, Bob’s is a nice treat.

Graham and I love Bob’s. Although not all of their food is vegan (I *may*, however, have convinced the owner to experiment with making vegan pancakes for their brunch!), a great deal of it is, and the folks working there are friendly and knowledgeable.

Their menu changes daily, but they always have sushi rolls, some sandwiches, stews, salads, and delicious smoothies.

I once got this awfully tasty herb-and-bean pate bagel sandwich, which was filled with sprouts, fresh tomatoes, and avocados.

Here is one of their lovely salads:

The salads usually have a mixture of whole grains, fruits, and vegetables on the bottom and leafy greans on the top, and come with some sort of dressing on the side. If I remember correctly, this was a quinoa and dried fruit salad with a coconut-lime dressing. Delicious!

They also regularly have a cold pad thai salad, which is one of my favorites.

Graham loves their futomaki, a nori sheet stuffed with brown sushi rice, mango, radish, cucumber, avocado, and green onion.

And, like I said, they have excellent juices and smoothies. I think that this was a banana-ginger jus mixe:

Just a few words of warning. Bob’s is very small and very popular. So, it’s always a good idea to show up at the beginning of the lunch hour, and to be prepared to be very cozy with your neighbors. All of the seating is communal (they have two, very long tables), and so you share cutlery, water, napkins, bread, and tea with all the other patrons. This is sometimes quite nice–we ended up meeting some very pleasant people a little while ago and talking for the whole lunch period!

Also, I’ve heard that they sometimes put honey in things that are otherwise vegan. At this point, I’m not very upset by this–although I don’t buy honey myself (I see no need to), I’m not as concerned with avoiding honey as I am with avoiding other things. But, if that’s of concern to you, you should mention it to your server.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 9:30 am

    Those look amazing! I’m with you on the honey.

    • November 11, 2010 10:04 am

      Hi there! I was just drooling over your roulade en croute. If I get up the courage, I might try it, although I’m not a pastry dough master like you!

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan MoFo Wednesday Roundup – Traveling Vegans | Vegan MoFo Headquarters International

Leave a Reply

