Skip to content

Pear-Stuffed Crepes and Tofu Scramble

November 11, 2010

So, here’s another brunch post: this past Sunday, we made cinnamon pears, which we stuffed into crepes along with some walnut Vegusto. And I made a tofu scramble. And I discovered that there was Spanish hot sauce in my apartment.

I rarely ever considered the possibility that fruit and fruit spreads would go well with cheese. I think that before I moved to France, the only time it even occurred to me to eat fruit and cheese together was when I was traveling through the midwest and stopped at a diner, where I ordered what was listed as a “fruit salad.” What I got, however, were canned pineapple chunks mixed together with marshmallow fluff, and topped with tons of cheddar cheese. I guess Indiana’s crazy like that sometimes. What’s a vegan to do? Not order fruit salad in Indiana, apparently.

Anyhow, when we first found Vegusto, we thought that we should give the cheese-and-fruit thing a shot–after all, if fruit and cow-cheese are allegedly good together, then fruit and delicious sharp vegan cheese should be good, too. And it is.

So, for these crepes, I first cooked some pears (a variation on the cooked apples from our last brunch) with a little bit of cinnamon and a splash of maple syrup:

And then I stuffed them inside crepes (from Vegan Brunch) with a little shredded walnut Vegusto. It was amazing.

And, since I have a love affair with almost all things smoky, I made a tofu scramble using tofu fumé.

Everyone has their own way of making a tofu scramble, but here’s a way that I think is pretty fool-proof:

Tofu Scramble

Ingredients:
-1/2 onion, chopped
-2 cloves of garlic, chopped
-various vegetables, about 1 cup’s worth or a bit more (I used carrots and zucchini)
-1 package of smoked tofu (or regular tofu, along with some liquid smoke)
-1 or 2 tsp tahini, mixed with 1 Tbsp warm water and 1 Tbsp soy sauce
-a pinch of herbs (I used herbs de provence)
-a pinch of tumeric
-a pinch of pepper

Method:

-Cook the onion and vegetables (except for the garlic) in a pan with a bit of oil, until they’re about as cooked as you would like them. Lightly salt them.
-Crumble in the tofu (and liquid smoke, if necessary) and throw in the chopped garlic. Cook for another minute.
-Toss in the tahini mixture, making sure that it’s evenly distributed.
-Finally, add in the herbs and spices. Taste to see if it’s flavorful enough; if it isn’t, you can add in some more soy sauce.

If it were available here, I would also like to add in some black salt, which has a sulfurous (egg-y) flavor. In the US, you can usually find black salt (sometimes called sel noir, sometimes Kala Namak) in Indian grocery stores. Unfortunately, no Indian grocery store in Paris sells it (I’ve asked).

Nevertheless, I think that the smoked tofu more than makes up for the missing black salt. And, if you run out of pears, you can have tofu scramble crepes! With Spanish hot sauce, of course.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 2:51 pm

    Pear stuffed crepes? Yum! I’m definitely going to make them soon.

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
    November 11, 2010 7:45 pm

    Crepes for you too this week! 🙂 These look fantastic.

  3. Mary Bosch permalink
    November 11, 2010 8:22 pm

    I’ve forgotten the name of the restaurant/gas station on route 31 in Indiana where you had that very mid-western fruit salad but its slogan was “Eat Here and Get Gas.”

Leave a Reply

