Skip to content

Ginger Miso Soup

November 15, 2010

A quick and simple miso soup with a ginger kick.

When I went to our Asian market a few weeks ago, they were handing out little cups of miso soup which they had made slightly heartier (and more French?) by including some bread crumbs. So, when I found myself wanting miso soup for lunch, I decided to give the bread crumbs a shot.

To make the soup, I simply desolved some miso into warm water, along with some freshly grated ginger and nori flakes. I also added in some green beans, which I let cook in the soup until they were just soft enough to eat.

While the beans were cooking, I took some slightly stale bread, tore it into pieces, tossed it with some olive oil and salt, and baked it on a tray in our toaster oven for about 10 minutes.

So, this was extremely simple, but it was delicious. This would be great flu-weather soup, too: you can fill it with as much ginger as you like, and the longer you let the ginger cook in the broth, the more potent it will become.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 12:43 am

    oooh, yes, I am definitely trying this out. I have got miso on the brain right now, and ginger seems like the perfect accompaniment! Beautiful photos too!

    • November 16, 2010 9:19 am

      It was delicious. Sorry I don’t have a real recipe for you–I was just throwing my refrigerator contents together. But I’m sure you can feel it out, and probably make some improvements!

Leave a Reply

