Skip to content

Mushroom Ravioli with a Balsamic Reduction

November 16, 2010

I made more gyoza wrapper ravioli, but this time I stuffed them with mushrooms and then drizzled on a cheese sauce along with a balsamic reduction.

I had never made a balsamic reduction before, but I gave it a try after doing some googling. It turned out quite well, although I’m not sure I’ve yet mastered the method.

These were totally wonderful–the balsamic reduction added a nice amount of sweet tanginess, which went well with all the herbs in the mushroom filling.

To make something like this, you should begin by making the filling. I chopped up a packaged of washed white mushrooms into very small pieces, and then cooked them in a bit of olive oil along with some onions and garlic. Once the mushroom juice had largely evaporated, I added some salt and pepper, along with herbs de provence.

Then you can make your raviolis–I described this process in the previous ravioli post.

Next, you can make a balsamic reduction. Basically, you just boil balsamic vinegar until it reduces by about 3/4 (so, if you start with 1 C of vinegar, you should end up with about 1/4 C of vinegar). You’ll need to stir it regularly to ensure that it doesn’t burn. Other than that, I have no real instructions.

For a strong, viscous cheese sauce, I blended together:

-1/2 C oat milk
-3 Tbsp + 1 tsp of ground raw cashews
-1 Tbsp of mild miso (sweet shiro–if you have stronger miso, you can use less of it)
-1/4 tsp tahini
-1/4 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp cornstarch mixed with 1/2 tsp of water

Once these were blended together, I heated the mixture until it was sufficiently thick.

If you like drizzling things on other things, then this is definitely the dish for you.

Eating these guys was like eating really fancy comfort food.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    November 16, 2010 2:56 pm

    Mmmmmmmm…..

  2. November 16, 2010 4:52 pm

    That looks amazing. I need to find myself some gyoza wrappers.

  3. November 16, 2010 7:33 pm

    That is some seriously beautiful food!

  4. November 16, 2010 8:09 pm

    If Pollock made ravioli…

  5. November 16, 2010 8:32 pm

    The look so delicious! AWESOME!

  6. November 17, 2010 1:17 am

    That is stunning!

  7. cadryskitchen permalink
    November 17, 2010 1:44 pm

    This looks gorgeous and so delicious. Thus far I’ve had troubles finding gyoza wrappers without egg in them, but this gives me new reasons to continue the search!

Leave a Reply

