Skip to content

Pear and Blue Cheese Sandwiches

November 18, 2010

I did a sandwich experiment with vegan blue cheese from Scotland.

Last night, G and I decided to go out to our vegan haunt, Loving Hut (which I’ve mentioned many times before). As usual, we had some wonderful food–G got the plat du jour, which was a quiche, some creamy cauliflower, two little meat cakes, and some pumpkin soup. I also had a quiche, although I didn’t get the entire plat de jour. And for dessert, Graham got a ball of coconut sorbet and I got a slice of pear cake.

Everything was delicious, but you probably knew I was going to say that, since I’ve already made it obvious that I really, really like Loving Hut.

Anyway, what I really wanted to share is this: on our way out, we noticed that they were selling vegan blue cheese at their little deli counter (along with vegan gouda, and a few other different kinds of vegan Scottish cheese). Normally, if we get anything from their deli, we go for the Vegusto–Vegusto is amazing–but I really wanted to try out the blue cheese. So we got some.

The first strike against this cheese: the name. It really bothers me that so many vegan foods get these cutesy labels (“Teese,” “Cheezly,” and now “Sheese”)–can’t the names just be descriptive? I think the folks at Vegusto, Dr. Cow, and Daiya should get lots of credit for having resisted the (apparently nearly irresistible) urge to concoct yet another clever near-homophone for cheese.

But I’m willing to look past that–I used to really like blue cheese, and was excited to try some.

This afternoon, I decided to make pear and cheese sandwiches for lunch. But first, I thought I’d try just a little bite of the “sheese”…

and it was pretty good! It tasted like… blue cheese. Although it may have been a little firmer than typical cow-derived blue cheese; I can’t clearly remember. But hey! I seem to have found I nice new snack cheese.

However, I then decided to make grilled sandwiches–and this didn’t turn out so well. When you heat “sheese” it… changes. It tastes a little different, smells a little different, has a different (but not melty) texture. Not terrible, but not as good as it is out of the package.

So, the verdict is that sheese (at least the blue variety) is good for snacking and on cold sandwiches. Perhaps not so great for cooking with. If you’re looking for a vegan cheese you’d like to heat, I would use Vegusto (if you’re in Europe) or Daiya (if you’re in North America). I’m still debating about whether to try the gouda “sheese.”

I have another pear-filled post coming your way!

Also, we’ve firmed up our Thanksgiving plans. I’ll give you a hint: they involve a boat.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 2:51 pm

    I like the blue Sheese also the Smoked cheddar is good too. I’ve never heard of Vegusto so I’m gonna go off and google that right now.

    • November 18, 2010 2:58 pm

      I’m hoping against hope that Vegusto decides to begin distributing in the US. I’ve developed an addiction.

  2. Caroline Brooks permalink
    November 18, 2010 2:55 pm

    Oooh, looking forward to hearing about your Thanksgiving – have fun! But I wish you and your mom were going to be in my houseful of Bosch next week!

    • November 18, 2010 2:59 pm

      It would be so fun to come! But you’ll have more Bosch’s than you know what to do with, as it is. (: Have a great time!

  3. Stephanie permalink
    November 18, 2010 5:49 pm

    So glad you’ve tried Sheese! In a weird twist of fate we can’t get it in Berkeley…but they have it at the co-op in Pittsburgh. I was planning on trying it when I went home for winter holidays. Glad to have the heads up on melting!

    • November 19, 2010 8:36 am

      Yes–DON’T heat it. (I don’t know–maybe other kinds taste better when heated?)

  4. November 20, 2010 7:55 am

    I like that cheese, too. And I am with you on those names.

Leave a Reply

