Skip to content

Sweet Potato Latkes

December 3, 2010

We’re now in the middle of Hanukkah, which means that you have yet another very good reason to eat some fried food–like latkes!

I was seriously thinking about making latkes for a while, but I kept putting it off until I was given a great-looking recipe by Stephanie. Stephanie’s recipe put me over the edge, and I suddenly really needed to eat some fried potato cakes.

Since I had a couple of sweet potatoes on hand, I decided to try some sweet potato latkes. I wasn’t quite sure how they would turn out, but I think that the result was great.

These were the ones we ate last night

Stephanie’s recipe required no flour–it was simply shredded, undrained potato with seasonings. However, since sweet potatoes aren’t exactly like white potatoes, and since I have a bad history with frying things (they tend to irreparably crumble), I decided to add a little bit of flour and baking powder to the mix.

So, here’s how it went. I kindly asked G to shred our two sweet potatoes (“Thanks, honey!”) while I prepared the other latke ingredients and the cashew cream cheese. The cream cheese (also suggested by Stephanie) was just a mixture of

-ground cashews (ground in a coffee grinder)
-water
-lemon juice
-salt

Once G was done shredding (he’s such a sport), I squeezed out a fair amount of the potato juice with my hands, and then combined the potato shreds with

-1/2 onion, finely chopped
-minced parsely
-salt
-pepper
-herbs de provence
-flour (approximately 1/3 C)
-1/2 tsp baking powder

Then we heated a layer of coconut oil (a couple of millimeters deep) in a non-stick pan. We took palmfuls of the potato mixture, formed them into tightly packed balls, carefully flattened them, and then fried them up.

We ate them with dollops of the cream cheese, alongside some leftover spinach and white bean soup.

We also tried frying them with less oil this afternoon for lunch. The result is still good, but different–they’re less crispy, darker on the outside, and only slightly cooked on the inside.

Good, but perhaps not quite as special as when they’re semi-deep fried in coconut oil. Go figure.

Another delicious Hanukkah treat is sufganiyot, which are basically jelly-filled donuts. I came across this recipe, which seriously made me wish I had a bakery injector. Has anyone made these without the injector? Would it be possible to, say, cut out two little circles of dough, dollop some jam on circle #1, and then press circle #2 on top of the jam (making sure that the seam was pinched carefully)? I’d be thrilled to make jelly donuts–and I bet G would be grateful to not have to shred anything.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    December 3, 2010 9:08 pm

    Those look awesome!!!! So glad it worked well for you 🙂

    man do i want a jelly donut. Maybe I’ll make some for an upcoming Chanukkah celebration?

    I wonder if a squeeze bottle with a pointed tip or a turkey baster would work for the bakery injector? but why would you have a turkey baster to experiment with?

    • December 6, 2010 2:59 pm

      Let me know if you do the donuts! I think I’ll need all the advice I can get.

  2. December 6, 2010 9:31 pm

    I just make the sufganiyot and then sprinkle powdered sugar, or you can add a tsp. to the top of your sufganiyot ! It’s all good!!! happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

