Skip to content

Gnocchi and Zucchini with Lemon Cream

March 7, 2011

Inspired by this recipe from Vegalicious, I finally splurged and bought some gnocchi. )

This is a great recipe, and I only changed it a bit (to accommodate what I had on hand, and to double the yield so that we could have leftovers). Instead of the soy yogurt, I used cashew butter with some lemon juice and salt, and I think that I used a little less lemon juice than the recipe called for. I had great results despite these changes, and the whole meal came together very quickly.

I cooked the onion and zucchini together until the pieces were a little brown, and set the pan aside. Then I started on the sauce (which I actually tripled, so that a. the whole thing could be very saucy, and b. there would be some sauce leftover), which I made using blended tofu, vegetable bouillon, lemon juice, cashew butter, salt, and lots of black pepper. Finally, I cooked the gnocchi, which took all of two minutes. I mixed the gnocchi with most of the sauce and with the zucchini mixture, spread it out into a couple of pasta bowls, and topped it with basil and parsley.

Then I covered the top of each serving with fresh salad greens.

When we ate, I kept a little balsamic vinaigrette on the table to sprinkle on the greens. I will definitely make this again, although in the future I might make the entire sauce using ground cashews…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 2:20 pm

    This looks so creamy!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    March 7, 2011 6:16 pm

    I read this right after I read yours. There’s a clear cashes & citrus theme happening that sounds delicious.

    http://www.choosingraw.com/zesty-orange-cashew-cheese-and-apple-wraps

Leave a Reply

