Skip to content

Two Seitan Variations: PPK Barbequed Seitan, and Garlic-and-Herb Seitan with Lemon Cream

March 10, 2011

I’m going crazy with this lemon cream (just for the record, you don’t have to add lemon to it—you can also get a basic cream using ground cashews and water). But I love it! It goes well with everything, and you can make a great deal of it using just a small number of cashews, so it’s very economical. Plus, cashews are a whole food, so using them totally beats using processed soy products to make vegan cream. I still don’t quite understand why the cashew milk thickens up so well when it’s heated (it’s not like almond or hazelnut milk gets super thick when it’s hot), but it’s certainly fortuitous! However, before I go on and on about the cream, let me point you in the direction of the PPK pantry BBQ sauce.

Graham and I made some seitan, and decided to coat some of it with Isa’s pantry barbeque sauce. Obviously, we can’t really buy barbeque sauce here–at least I haven’t seen any–so it was nice to see that I could easily make some of my own using what I had in my kitchen. Although I wouldn’t have had the smoke on hand had Caroline and Scott not brought it when they came to visit.

For how little work it is to make this sauce, it’s really good. We mixed our barbequed seitan with broccoli and served it over brown rice and scarfed it down (or ate it as fast as we could, since I tend to have a heavy hand when it comes to tabasco sauce).

The next day, I made more lemon cream and put it on top of some prepared seitan, which I had browned in a pan with some olive oil and soy sauce, and then sprinkled with garlic and spices. I made the cream in the way I’ve been making it all along: first, by grinding some cashews in a coffee grinder, incorporating them into some water using my immersion blender, blending in a bouillon cube, and then heating it while adding some lemon and black pepper. Again, I promise I’ll come up with a more specific recipe soon–it’s just a really great sauce to make in a hurry, and so when I make it I don’t write down what I’m doing.

We ate the seitan and lemon cream on top of rice, with a side of roasted sweet potatoes. It was totally wonderful, and we had leftovers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 5:29 pm

    This post made me very hungry! The bbq seitan and the lemon cream sound like a great combination.

  2. Ste permalink
    March 10, 2011 6:40 pm

    I am LOVING how much you’re loving the cashew cream! I remember falling in love with an herbed — I think it was tarragon? — version and never looking back to tofu cream sauce (or tofu cheesecake. And I sometimes put cashews in stir fries or soups…)

    Cashews, FTW!

Leave a Reply

