Skip to content

Beyond Skin

March 21, 2011

I just took a look at the Beyond Skin website–if you’re in the market for (allegedly) durable women’s dress shoes, check it out!

I don’t do heels, but their flats look nice!

Although they’re price-y, it really might be worth it. I have a bad habit of buying whatever I can get the most cheaply, and as a result end up with lots of Goodwill-originating useless crap that clutters my closet (interspersed with some gems, of course). So, if you’re like me and looking for hard-waring, work-appropriate, comfortable, ethically-sourced goods, perhaps Beyond Skin could help.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    March 22, 2011 4:26 am

    oooo. shoes and me are a bad combination. But these are so expensive I don’t think they are actually much of a temptation. Speaking of vegan shoes, how did you like the shoes you got from Vegetarian Shoes? How have they held up? I really like their shoes also and they are a bit cheaper than these ones.

    • March 22, 2011 10:23 am

      Hi, Erin! Even though I don’t buy lots of shoes, I, too, enjoy looking at them.

      My vegetarian shoes have held up really well! My sandals are from VS, and in them I’ve walked all over South Bend, Chicago, Paris, and Barcelona, and they’re still as comfy and new-looking as ever. My tennis shoes are also from VS, and they’re also very comfortable and, despite being very light and relatively thin-soled (and made of canvas) have also held up well. The only trouble I’ve had was when I bought some flats from them, hoping they could be something a little dressier to teach in. They look great, and are definitely durable, and are initially the most comfortable shoes ever–but eventually I started to realize that, long-term, they weren’t quite comfortable enough. Clearly made for someone with narrower feet.

      I really only need (or feel like I need?) four pairs of shoes–sandals, tennis shoes, teaching/work shoes, and winter boots–and all I’m missing are the teaching shoes. We’ll see.

      • Erin permalink
        March 26, 2011 6:33 am

        Good to know. I find that many of the cute vegan shoes I like don’t hold up that well so useful to know about VS.

    • March 22, 2011 10:25 am

      Oh hey–did you nitice that in my little picture (with Twila) I’m wearing a hat you made?

      • Erin permalink
        March 26, 2011 6:32 am

        awww! Sweet! I hadn’t noticed. But now I do! It looks great on you. Glad you wear it sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

